Ipsy Bag Review: August 2016

I was an Ipsy subscriber for a few years in college, and after cancelling my subscription earlier this year as part of a process to get my budget in order, I have resubscribed to the $10-per-month beauty bag subscription program. If you haven’t heard of Ipsy before, it’s a subscription bag service started by YouTuber Michelle Phan that provides subscribers with five deluxe sample and full-sized products per month, based on a survey of each subscriber’s personal style, coloring, and product & company preferences. They provide a variety of drugstore and high end brands, and even the sample sizes are always packaged such that the products can be used more than once (as opposed to single-use shampoo or moisturizer packets, etc). For a while I was receiving Ipsy bags at the same time that one of my roommates was also subscribed to Birchbox, and I always preferred my monthly packages as compared to hers, as far as the quality of samples and the affordability of the full-sized products.

My ratings will be based entirely upon the usefullness of each product in my own lifestyle, though I will still describe the potential pros of lower-rated products.

This month’s theme was Sugar Highness, and the bag was designed by Michelle Phan herself.

Screen Shot 2016-08-23 at 9.07.34 PM

I received the purple bag, with the following items:Screen Shot 2016-08-29 at 3.26.41 PM

IT Hair Care 12-in-1 Amazing Leave-In Treatment
Rating: 3/5

This product leaves my hair feeling nice and soft,
but my hair is already pretty healthy so while
it’s nice for days when I’m doing face masks
and scrubs and the whole shebang, I don’t really
need it and it probably wouldn’t make a difference
to the quality of my hair if I didn’t use it.

Beaute Basics 3 Tone Bronzer
Rating: 2/5

Let’s get into it – this bronzer isn’t super dark, but I am usually super pale. When I tried it on it did give me a healthy glow, but I will probably never actually be tan enough for a long enough amount of time to wear it regularly, so I will probably either see if one of my roommates wants it or just throw it away.

the bronzer is applied to the right side of my face in the photo.

Nomad Cosmetics Intense Eyeshadow in Spice Market
Rating: 1/5

This shimmery eyeshadow is very pigmented and it blended well when I swatched it on my wrist, but I usually wear more nude and brown shades. Now that I’ve graduated from UMD and don’t really have occasions (see: football & basketball games) to wear more spirited makeup for, I can’t really see myself using an eyeshadow in this reddish shade, so I will probably throw it out.


Ciaté London Paint Pot in Spinning Teacups
Rating: 5/5Screen Shot 2016-08-29 at 3.28.15 PM

This nail polish is so nice! I love the lavender shade
and it has a really smooth formula. I was making
lunch and washing dishes within half an hour of
applying the nail polish and it didn’t chip or smudge at all. In fact, I had it on for nearly 3 days before it even started wearing off at the tips of my nails, and I didn’t use any base or top coat. I’ll definitely be wearing this all the time, though at $17 per bottle I’m not sure if I would actually buy it again – maybe Ciaté London will find its way onto my Christmas list this year!

Tarte Cosmetics Tarteist Lash Paint Mascara
Rating: 5/5

This mascara arrived just in time – my old tube was drying up, and as soon as I used this sample, I fell in love. I had previously been using Benefit’s They’re Real! lengthening mascara, and tarteist lash paint is so much better in my opinion. Tarteist wore much more like Benefit’s Rollerlash (which I’d been using for a year before trying out They’re Real!), and I love the applicator wand. It doesn’t transfer onto my eyelids/above my lashline when I apply it like They’re Real! did, and it’s much easier to take off as well. I’m already a huge fan of tarte anyway, and tarteist lash paint will definitely find its way into my makeup bag again after this tube runs out.

lash paint is applied to my right eyelashes in the photo – please excuse my dark circles!

Overall, this month’s bag averaged a 3.2/5, and I’m definitely looking forward to the next one! Let me know if you’ve tried any other subscription boxes and what your preference is!

2 thoughts on “Ipsy Bag Review: August 2016

Leave a Reply

