What I Ate: 4-Cheese Tortellini & Spinach Tomato Soup

You know what’s the perfect meal when you love pasta, cheese, spinach, and tomatoes? It’s 4-cheese tortellini & spinach tomato soup. I found Gal on a Mission’s recipe on Pinterest the other day and immediately decided that it needed to be inside my body, ASAP. Her recipe is actually for 3-cheese tortellini (but really whatever tortellini you want to use is your choice) and uses carrots instead of spinach, so I tweaked the recipe a bit to my own liking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ingredients
1/2 onion
2 cloves garlic (minced)
1/4 cup basil (shredded)
5.5 cups chicken stock (can replace with veggie broth for a vegetarian meal!)
1 1/4 cup half & half
1 jar Ragu pasta sauce (I think I used a 7oz jar)
14.5 oz diced tomatoes (don’t drain!)
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
20 oz 4 cheese refrigerated tortellini
2.5-3 cups raw spinach

Gal on a Mission’s recipe actually calls for 5 cups of chicken stock and 16 oz of tortellini, but the best value package at my grocery store was 20 oz so I just added an extra half cup of chicken stock to the recipe to make up the difference.

Instructions
1. Simmer onion over medium heat until translucent (or close).
2. Add garlic, simmer like  1-2 more mins.
3. Add basil, chicken stock, half & half, ragu, diced tomatoes, salt, and pepper. Stir, simmer 20 mins.
4. Add tortellini & spinach, simmer another 15-20 mins.
5. Serve with shredded mozzarella or parmesan cheese and basil!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This soup was seriously delicious, and made enough that I’ll definitely be able to get another 3-4 meals out of it. I might make garlic bread too if I’m ever making it for a group. I’m really looking forward to having this as a cozy go-to this winter, especially on snow days!

Let me know how it turns out if you try it!

 

Leave a Reply

